Tuesday, 25 October 2016

Facebook is Going to make all your Private Photos Public Tomorrow — It's a Scam?

Facebook privacy is public - inspire space
Don't believe everything you read on Facebook.
Despite so many awareness about Facebook hoaxes, online users fall for them and make them viral.
One such viral post is circulating on Facebook that suggests everything that you have ever posted on the social media platform will become public tomorrow.
Don't worry — it's a hoax. Yes, it's still a hoax.

The latest Facebook privacy hoax message looks like this:

"Deadline tomorrow !!! Everything you've ever posted becomes public from tomorrow. Even messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. It costs nothing for a simple copy and paste, better safe than sorry. Channel 13 News talked about the change in Facebook's privacy policy. I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past, and future. With this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 11 308-103 and the Rome Statute.) NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. just copy and paste."
You may have seen some of your friends started posting the above Facebook "Privacy Notice" on their timelines, clarifying that they no longer give Facebook permission to use their photos, personal information, blah blah…

Let me tell you one thing: the social media giant has made no such announcement; rather it has been made by one of you and people are spreading this all over Facebook.


What's more surprising is that even well-educated people, who understand how privacy policy of any company works, are also falling victims to this hoax and are posting this creepy message on their timeline and encouraging their friends to do the same. 

Similar Facebook privacy notice hoax was circulated on the social network a few months back, and it's making the rounds again.
At that time in June, Facebook issued the following statement about this hoax:
"You may have seen a post telling you to copy and paste a notice to retain control over things you share on Facebook. Don't believe it. Our terms say clearly: You own all of the content and information you post on Facebook, and you can control how it's shared through your privacy and application settings. That's how it works, and this hasn't changed."

If you are concerned about your privacy on Facebook, the company provides settings that limit strangers, and of course the company itself, from accessing your posts, photos or content.

Go to the top-right corner of your Facebook timeline, click on the lock icon and run a Privacy Check for your Facebook profile. This will allow you to limit the audience for posts on Facebook and decide what information you want to share on your profile.

Thanks and stay blessed!

Google Adsense Specialist | Technology Passionate | IT Engineer | Professional Blogger | Hobby - Coding | India | Quote - Love Life, Live Life.


CommentsComments

Comment your Questions/Thoughts